ArmyStudyGuide.com Community

ArmyStudyGuide.com's Community is an Army Forum

ArmyStudyGuide.com    ArmyStudyGuide Community    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Joining the Army, BCT and AIT  Hop To Forums  General Enlistment Discussion    Enlisting after a personality disorder discharge
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Enlisting after a personality disorder discharge
 Login/Join

posted
To make a long story short....I never had a personality disorder...there were 5 or 6 individuals from the same unit that were all discharge under the same separtaion authority...my RE code is a 3. My "disorder" was a moderate case of depression (which has been resolved) and the unit decided rather than help, they would kick me out.

I was a good soldier who had no problems until I ran into this horrible unit. Served 4 yrs on AD before I joined the Guard and was subjected to this horrible treatment. If I had a personality disorder, I am sure it would have been identified in my 4 yrs of active duty.

After I was discharged, the unit was brought up on charges and investegated and a few people in the chain-of-command were relieved of their duties related to the enormous amount of discharges they were dishing out. (Some B...S...) I loved the Army and would love to serve again. Just need to know what I can do to make that happen and continue with my life.

It has been 4 yrs since I was discharged and now I am inquiring about reenlisting and being told that a personality disorder is an automatic bar to reenlistment. Is this true? Previously I was told I had to wait 2 yrs.

Posts: 3 | Registered: 04 May 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post
If you feel your discharge conditions are incorrectly documented, gather documentation and petition the board of corrections.

If the circumstances resulting in your discharge have been corrected, you may be able to have those flags removed with a letter from your physician.

This is a ten level task