ArmyStudyGuide.com Community

ArmyStudyGuide.com's Community is an Army Forum

ArmyStudyGuide.com    ArmyStudyGuide Community    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  NCO Business  Hop To Forums  Drill Sergeant Discussion    Looking for up to date info on DS school
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Looking for up to date info on DS school
 Login/Join

posted
It looks like most of the discussions on here are fairly old. Does anyone have any up to date info on ds school? Poi , duty hours, course prep, and anything else helpful would be greatly appreciated.

Posts: 4 | Registered: 08 March 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of TheWiseChief
posted Hide Post

Posts: 1902 | Registered: 04 February 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of Infantry4life
posted Hide Post
SGTDemp,

Not sure if you're already at the academy yet or not. But I figured since I graduated in March I would share some info.

Duty hours are not bad at all. There are days that you wake up earlier than usual, but other than that, it's like your normal duty day with PT. They just find a way to cram everything into it. The first week you get off a little later than usual and then you study so it seems you have no time at all. But then it gets easier as you go, some days you're off by 1500.

To prep for the course, learn the top 3 modules that you can find by a Google search, using the like TheWiseChief provided, or buying the little green covered book from a store. Knowing the commands and exercises for PRT is helpful, especially the preparation drill.