ArmyStudyGuide.com Community

ArmyStudyGuide.com's Community is an Army Forum

ArmyStudyGuide.com    ArmyStudyGuide Community    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  General Community Discussion  Hop To Forums  Promotions    can i be denied an automatic promotion?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

can i be denied an automatic promotion?
 Login/Join

posted
I graduated from AIT in OCT 09 i reported to my first duty station on October 24th 09. Upon arrival i was informed there would be an apft in 8 days. Under FM 21-20 i was given that apft as a Diag. Now it is march and i reached my automatic promotion date on Feb 24th 2010 but was informed today that i was denied promotion to E-3 because my PSG has been denying me a waiver since i got here in oct. Is this legal or acceptable? What reg covers if this can or cant be done?

Posts: 8 | Location: Ft. Hood | Registered: 03 March 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of MSG W
posted Hide Post
So, when you took the diagnostic did you pass or fail?

You can be denied a waiver for any reason, you don't have a right to it. A commander can also deny an automatic promotion.

Posts: 399 | Location: Ft. Lewis, WA | Registered: 30 May 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post
i failed the diag but as stated by my psg that is not why im being denied. im being denied because he has been denying my waiver since i got there so im guessing that there basing the decision off of the fact that my psg has been saying no to the waiver this whole time. Although yes i understand that the waiver is not a right it is for optimal performance and for deserving soldiers.

Posts: 8 | Location: Ft. Hood | Registered: 03 March 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of JC351LPP4
posted Hide Post
You might want to check out:
AR 600-8-19 and AR 600-8-2.