ArmyStudyGuide.com Community

ArmyStudyGuide.com's Community is an Army Forum

ArmyStudyGuide.com    ArmyStudyGuide Community    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Branch Specific Posts  Hop To Forums  Health Services    Returning Vet. Navy-Army
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Returning Vet. Navy-Army
 Login/Join

posted
I am a Vet. I was in the USN back in 94-98. My MOS over there was Aviation Electrical/Mechanical Repairman(civi-translation) and I was an E3 when I left. Recently, I decided to join the Army and get into M6.
The questions I have in mind are...

I have over 60 credits in college... probably around 90 but no degree yet. My recruiter said if he get me E4 and M6, would I join? I know I was E3 in the Navy and is it transfering over to Army. He throws in another one for me because of college credit.
(1)What rank (E3, 4, 5, etc) should I bargain for? Should I get E5?

A friend of mine said his recruiter promised to give him E5 and he has no prior military what so ever. BUT he has around 100 credits in college. Is this possible?

(2)As for M6, I will be going through 68W first and then continue on with M6 right after correct?
I forgot to ask him last time. I will ask him this Monday when I am back to fill out some papers.

Oh for the note, he told me 68W is filled up for active service, so I have to be in active parttime for it.

Thanks in advance for all your answers. Please do be constructive and no bashing.

Posts: 2 | Registered: 06 February 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of Infantry4life
posted Hide Post
I'm no recruiter, yet. But I don't think you can get E-5 coming in. As prior service, maybe, but it's been awhile since you been in so I don't think that it's going to happen. I'd be happy with E-4, thats more than what most come in as. But it don't hurt to ask, I mean if you get it, sweet, but don't go in counting on it.

Trust me, I'm a Recruiter!