Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Fort Lee 91D AIT PT Problems
 Login/Join

posted
First I'd like to say hello all; this is my first post on the board, and thanks in advance for any info i might receive.

I'm currently a Army Reserve PFC in AIT for MOS 91D- Power Generation Equipment Repairer at Fort Lee, Virginia. I was split-op and had some problems with my recruiter when my time to ship to AIT came last fall (he lost my 201 file), so I just now got into AIT in December. It's been quite a while since I graduated BCT- over a year and a half, and since then, I've lost my mother to cancer and my father has had 2 strokes. Through stress and my own laziness, I've fallen out of shape. My recruiter lied on a PT test and said I passed it in order to ship me to AIT despite my objections. Now that I am in AIT, I am concerned that I will not be able to pass the final record APFT before I graduate.

I talked to my platoon sergeant about any sort of remedial PT program and he said that we must do it on our own, so on weekends I run around the barracks and every night I do PT in my room. Still, I'm concerned I won't pass because my AIT is rather short- 9 weeks left. Furthermore, the sergeants said the PT we do every morning is intended to just maintain us, not get us into shape like in BCT.

So my question is, if my working out isn't enough, and I do end up failing the record APFT before graduation, what will become of me? Will I become a "holdover", and stay until I pass? Or will I be "red flagged" and sent to my unit to pass a test back home? To be honest I'm hoping for the latter. My dad is a veteran and wants me to do my best over here, but I don't know how much more of his heart condition he can take. I want to graduate ASAP and be there for him just like I was with my mom (I don't want to have to wait for Red Cross leave). I would take this to my platoon sergeant but frankly I'm not sure if I'll get a straight answer. Any help would take a lot of weight off my chest.