ArmyStudyGuide.com Community

ArmyStudyGuide.com's Community is an Army Forum

ArmyStudyGuide.com    ArmyStudyGuide Community    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  NCO Business  Hop To Forums  Developmental Counseling    Newly promoted NCO
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Newly promoted NCO
 Login/Join

Picture of ArmyBackBone89
posted
As a SPC I was privileged to utilize my CO school incentive program. I would report for accountability formation and then be sent on my way to classes. I now have my stripes, I now report to work for half-day schedule, then attend my classes. I'm still a full time student but now I have soldiers who I am responsible for. One of my soldiers is reporting to the SOM board next week. I haven't done a single counseling (to include my initial) to any of my soldiers. I am currently the SQD LDR until the official SQD LDR and TEAM LDR return from school. My unit is pretty much throwing me to the wolves, not to mention I still have green Class A's. So my issues are:

1. Should I even report with my soldier to the SOM board knowing I'll give the SM a bad look from the gate wearing greens?
2. Am I responsible for counseling soldiers even if I'm not assigned the role of SQD LDR?
3. If I am held accountable to give counselings where can I go to reference some good examples. I'll need this in the future regardless.

Posts: 2 | Registered: 07 February 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of AutobahnSHO
posted Hide Post
Don't blame your unit- you should have been learning to be an NCO.

1- ABSOLUTELY, or find an appropriate substitute. However, will that substitute know your Soldier as well as you do?
--The board will not blame the Soldier as much as you for YOUR "8 up" ness.

2- Work that out with your Plt SGT. But yes, anyone who falls under your supervision should be counseled by you.