ArmyStudyGuide.com Community

ArmyStudyGuide.com's Community is an Army Forum

ArmyStudyGuide.com    ArmyStudyGuide Community    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  NCO Business  Hop To Forums  Developmental Counseling    Plan Of Action portion of DA Form 4856
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Plan Of Action portion of DA Form 4856
 Login/Join

Picture of Hartranft
posted
This may seem as a dumb question, but I'm very very new to writing counselings. I've just been assigned as a team leader, and have been given no instruction on how to complete this form, so I've kind of just been going off of other SGT and SSG examples that they have given me.

Normally on this section that is the subject of the post, the unit expects this to be short term and long term goals. But I'm not sure if these are supposed to be my goals for the soldier or the soldier's individual goals for themselves. As i know that my job as their team leader is to ensure that they get their job done correctly and in a timely manner while still meeting all ARs. But I also know that it is my job to know what their personal goals are and to assist them down that path while ensuring that it does not hamper their job and work ability.

Thank you for your time and responses.

Posts: 3 | Location: Fort Bragg | Registered: 26 April 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of Go Ordnance
posted Hide Post
"Plan of action" means just that... a plan of action. You would develop a plan that you think would achieve the desired results of whatever the counseling is about.

Example:

Soldier needs military education to help get promoted.

"plan of action" Enroll Soldier into correspondence courses.

"If you do not stand by me at my worst, you WILL NOT stand by me at my best."

Posts: 719 | Location: Fort Lee | Registered: 18 May 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post
See you around again... There's no dumb questions! Just keep asking you always learn something new asking questions!!