ArmyStudyGuide.com Community

ArmyStudyGuide.com's Community is an Army Forum

ArmyStudyGuide.com    ArmyStudyGuide Community    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  NCO Business  Hop To Forums  Warrior Leaders Course    Don't Want To Go To WLC
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Don't Want To Go To WLC
 Login/Join

posted
Ok I know i am gonna get a lot of reasons that I should go but I really dont want to, I am a SPC that got DA selected and now I have 350 Promotion Points. I have turned down the board, I dont want to be a SGT, I am not a dirt bag, I bust my ass at work, but SGT is just somthing i dont want, I am a Mechanic and that is what i joined to do, I have no desire to supervise, train, teach, lead other soldiers. I am now Being told I have to go to WLC There is no way around it, and if I fight it I will lose rank.

I am a SGT's dream they dont have to worry about me at all i never get in trouble and bust my ass for them, If i dont want to "move up the ladder" then I am a dirtbag? If i say ok take my rank let me get back to work what then? can they do that?

Posts: 3 | Registered: 30 November 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post
How much time do you have left in the Army before you ETS? I know you have probably heard this several times already, but your in the Army to be a soldier first, and along with that comes the duties of training and leading soldiers etc., over time thats what a soldier grows into. You should seriously reconsider your thoughts on going to WLC and becoming an NCO especially if you are already good with your MOS (mechanic). Think it over. I do not know if you can lose rank for not attending WLC but besides all of that, consider it, it cant hurt you and it'll be a good couple weeks of training, that alone might change your mind on becoming a NCO. Good luck and take care.

Posts: 6 | Registered: 17 September 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post
I see 2 options here.