ArmyStudyGuide.com Community

ArmyStudyGuide.com's Community is an Army Forum

ArmyStudyGuide.com    ArmyStudyGuide Community    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Officer Business  Hop To Forums  Warrant Officer Discussion    Tattoos (NEW AR-670-1)
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Tattoos (NEW AR-670-1)
 Login/Join

posted
Hello all,

I am a Warrant Officer Candidate and I begin school on the 16th this upcoming month. I received the Slide Show pertaining to the new AR 670-1 updates and I am a bit concerned being that I have a tattoo on my forearm. Maybe I am just worrying myself for no reason, but I would like some guidance or information since I have yet to hear anything official. In accordance with the new regs, a tattoo below the elbow, knees etc. can only be smaller than your hand. Mine is smaller length wise, but a little sticks out on the sides width side. The guidance doesn't really give more details other than, it needs to be smaller than the hand. Given inch for inch it is smaller, I just can't cover it completely. My question is: If we've been selected for WOCS and have a class date and for whatever reason we don't meet this new tattoo policy that has yet to be released officially, are we grandfathered? Again, I think I'm legit, but I am a worry wort by nature, and I will definitely not let a tattoo destroy my dreams of becoming a Warrant Officer.

Posts: 49 | Location: Fort Huachuca, AZ. | Registered: 08 June 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post
You should be good because you have already been selected and by the time the policy officially goes into effect you will be wearing a dot. For all future candidates though, they will not be allowed to become officers if they do not meet the tatoo policy no grandfather.

The below is from the tattoo policy slide

"Officers and Warrant Officers are also restricted to this
same policy; Enlisted Soldiers exceeding this limit cannot
request commissioning (not grandfathered)"