Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

WOFT Packet
 Login/Join

posted
My name is Eric, I am 21 years old and currently in the process of completing my WOFT packet. I am a civilian with no prior service. I am currently a full-time Firefighter/Paramedic. I love the job but I am looking for something more.

I have always been interested in aviation but have not had the funds to attend schooling for a private license. I had the opportunity to sit left seat with a retired CW4 flying an air medical transport. I took the ASVAB test about 2 weeks ago and scored an AFQT of 82 and a GT of 122. I am scheduled to take the AFAST next Tuesday. I am here to read the forums and take in some information.

Would anybody be willing to help me with my resume? My recruiter forwarded me an example resume, but it is for prior-service and of course I cannot fill out all the "Military education and experience sections". If anybody is willing to help I can send you my resume. I still have some tweaking and modifications to do and I know punctuation is a must. I always try to be punctual, but in cases like this I tend to miss my mistakes if anybody would like to proof read and offer some insight.

I told the recruiter that I have no past experience for the MOS I am looking to obtain but I have skills and experiences that I believe would help me be a competitive candidate for WOFT

Thanks,
Eric

Posts: 16 | Location: IL | Registered: 09 July 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of AutobahnSHO
posted Hide Post
Good luck- it's competitive to get in, don't get discouraged though! Read the other threads about going flight, common theme seems to be really really study for the AFAST test. Wait until you are really really ready!

On the Resume, skip the military education. On the experience and prior jobs, focus on Leadership, reaction under stress, mental agility/endurance, etc...

I'd be happy to look it over after you're mostly complete, PM me.