ArmyStudyGuide.com Community

ArmyStudyGuide.com's Community is an Army Forum

ArmyStudyGuide.com    ArmyStudyGuide Community    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Branch Specific Posts  Hop To Forums  Armor    Desert Tanker Boots?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Desert Tanker Boots?
 Login/Join

Picture of JOSHFREE
posted Hide Post
Thanks alot MSG High info is def very much appreciated. Merry Christmas

I got nothing.

Posts: 308 | Location: WA | Registered: 15 April 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post
Ok, been hearing this for a while, and it's time to put it to bed.
I graduated from 19E10 M-48/M-60 Armor Crewman AIT in the Summer of 1989. I was in D-4-13, and the previous summer I was in A-3-81. And back then, when you graduated, you were officially a tanker. You didn't have to do anything else. Hell, you survived several weeks of training, went thru 5 Mil Stakes tests (I know, now it's called Warrior Stakes, or some such), and you were official.You could wear the boots, and when you got to your duty station no one said a thing because you had been thru basic to earn them. I served both reserve and Active Duty (2-77 and 1-68 in Ft. Carson, 4th ID back in the 90's) and took a break in service in 2001. I didn't hear about this "you gotta qualify to wear them" horseshit til I got back in three years ago.
I don't know where it started, but I would assume some cheap ass old bastard who was hitting his RCP (retention control point)with a nasty attitude started it by screwing with some new guys ( I was at Carson in the 90's, lot of old broke dick fat asses with bad attitudes there and then, and f***ing the new buddies was a past time.)