Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

91B ALC as an E-5
 Login/Join

posted
I am an E-5 non-promotable and I have been making requests for ALC CC and Phase 2 for the last 2 years now. My issue is that everytime my request goes up it gets denied because of to many E-6 and E-7s still needing one part or another of ALC. What can I do differently from sending the request to G1 here in Hawaii to get class dates?

Posts: 8 | Registered: 08 July 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post
Why not invest that time and effort into getting promoted? Ask to go to some NCO of the whatever boards if you're not ready for a promotion board.

Why would they grant a waiver so a non promotable E5 can jump ahead of an E7 in line? Those E6s and E7s are supposed to have that school. There are things in the army you can control and things you can't. Manage your time wisely by concentrating on what you can more easily affect.

EDIT: I just noticed you're getting a packet together, so you need ALC. Getting yourself promoted or at least promotable will pay dividends. Also, you're more likely to get ALC common core if you're promotable.

Posts: 364 | Registered: 20 January 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post
I have been working on getting to a Promotion Board over the last almost 3 years, but being a 91B in an Aviation unit makes me the lowest priority for Promotion Boards. I was just hoping that someone has gone a different route to get ALC so I have more cards to force the issue to my unit.

posted Hide Post
Who is your rater on your NCOERs? Who is your immediate supervisor? Have you talked about other boards to prove you're ready? Have you asked about professional development and what kind of performance your supervisor wants to see?

I've been in aviation units my entire career and I have never observed another MOS being barred from promotion because they're not aviation. There's a lot more than aviation in a CAB.