ArmyStudyGuide.com Community

ArmyStudyGuide.com's Community is an Army Forum

ArmyStudyGuide.com    ArmyStudyGuide Community    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Branch Specific Posts  Hop To Forums  Aviation    aircraft selection?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

aircraft selection?
 Login/Join

posted
Hi, I'd like to apologize in advance if I'm using this forum incorrectly. I don't use these boards a lot and am unfamiliar with how things work. I am a civilian pilot (fixed-wing) and just finishing up my Master's degree. I would like to apply to WOFT. I've been speaking with a recruiter, and he seems to think I have a great shot at getting in because of my experience, education, and prior service. My question is two-part: 1) What are the Army's current procedures of assigning aircraft to flight students? I've heard that students take a test, which then matches his/her personality and aptitude to a specific aircraft, but I've also heard that it is strictly by "Order of Merit." And 2) Could I be forced into Apaches if I don't want them? The reason I ask is because although I love both the military and flying, I don't know that I have an "aggressive" enough personality to fly Apaches, and the focus for this airframe seems to be just as much on weapons as on aviation. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Posts: 4 | Registered: 18 May 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of AutobahnSHO
posted Hide Post
According to "Aviators" on AKO (they prefer the term over "pilots"), it's Order of merit list.

However, I think less students want Chinook and Blackhawk, so I BELIEVE the Apaches and Kiowas get picked first.

Remember no matter which aircraft you're assigned, they all have weapons mounted on them. They pretty much all belong to "Combat Aviation Brigades" unless you graduate up to Special Forces. It's still the Army.

Be Proud of what you do- and do it Well! ~me