ArmyStudyGuide.com Community

ArmyStudyGuide.com's Community is an Army Forum

ArmyStudyGuide.com    ArmyStudyGuide Community    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  NCO Business  Hop To Forums  Recruiter Discussion    DA Select as a SFC
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

DA Select as a SFC
 Login/Join

posted
I'm a SFC nearing 2yrs TIG and 14yrs TIS. I was DA Select for Recruiting detail. I'm wondering if this is considered a broadening assignment as a SFC. I'm already in a generating force position (I'm an Instructor, so I'm making the super-exciting move from TRADOC to USAREC). The PDM for my MOS states that Recruiting is an excellent generating force assignment for SSGs and even SGTs. But as a SFC? I have absolutely no desire to change to 79R. I'll hit my first look for MSG mid-tour with recruiting. I doubt this will look favorable versus my peers who are off doing actual career-enhancing assignments commensurate with their grades.

Does anyone have any first hand experience with this? I get it. The needs of the Army trumps the needs of the individual Soldier. But honestly, I'd rather "pump gas for the Army than be a Recruiter." (I saw that somewhere else in this forum.) I'm not going to perpetrate some shady business in order to get out of the assignment. I'm not that guy.

What I've heard from nearly everyone I've spoken with is that being a non-79R in USAREC is basically being in an E-6 position.

And every senior NCO I've spoken within my field agrees that DA selection should be reserved for high-speed SSGs. Considering the difficulty of making SFC in my MOS, I can't fathom the logic of my branch for putting my packet forward. I'd email my branch manager but I think I need some time to calm down first.

Anyone else been in this position? I don't need any of the "suck it up, SFC responses." I want some actual insight in the ploy of a branch detailed SFC working at a recruiting station and whether or not he or she felt competitive afterwards (or during)for MSG.