New
Find
Notify
Tools

ID card photo
 Login/Join

Picture of WIT
posted
Is there an actual regulation or policy that states you must be wearing your uniform and/or shaven for the id card picture. For example for active duty according to the new AR 670-1 you must be clean shaven every day even when on leave, but for us Reservist and National Guard that doesn't apply unless on drill or active duty orders. Just curious if it may be an installation policy or something. Im dual status, I work as a DVD civilian and I'm in the reserves and I know for my civilian one I don't need to be shaven and our deers office is in an air force installation and they don't have any policies that say a service member from any branch can't get their ID card done in civilian with facial hair. So I'm just looking to learn more about this..

If you see your EOD tech running.. you better keep up.

Posts: 53 | Location: Wichita, KS | Registered: 18 February 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of TheWiseChief
posted Hide Post
My common sense answer to your common sense question is that you should look and dress appropriate for your photo so when you require access to enter an installation, the Guard on duty can easily identify you.

http://www.wikihow.com/Get-a-Military-ID

and

https://rapids-appointments.dm....aspx?BuildingId=274

MILITARY APPEARANCE

All Soldiers must be within military standards for their respective services for issuance of an ID in civilian clothing, no exceptions. (For Soldiers with shaving profiles, please have a copy of the profile with you)

US Army Korea

Posts: 1902 | Registered: 04 February 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of MSG W
posted Hide Post
I have HUMINT soldiers in my company and a few have full on beards and civilian clothes in their ID pictures.

For most soldiers, the expectation is that you will by IAW 670-1.

Posts: 404 | Location: Ft. Lewis, WA | Registered: 30 May 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post

Picture of SA Joe