I had the same issue while deployed. I had a reservation date for the school to start after deployment. However, the school had an empty seat, and if the First Sgt authorizes you to take it you are golden.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .