25E Questions?

I know this has already been posted but it never hurts to revisit a topic. I just had a few questions about 25E. I am currently a 25P, SGT Promotable, and looking to further my carrer since points have been maxed out for 5 months. I am planning on going warrant once I hit 8 yrs TIS and wanted opinions on switching to 25E with 6 yrs in.

Questions:

- Does a 25E still go for 254N and 251N?

- What are the promotion opportunity's for E-7 right now (friends question)?

- Can you be stationed in DC or Germany?

Thanks.
Original Post
I am by no means an expert when it comes to 25E, but this is my understanding. Right now promotion to SFC is pretty good because its a brand new MOS and they have to fill the ranks. That being said, the MOS layout for it that I have seen (this was about 2 years ago though so take it for what its worth) shows that it will definately bottleneck the higher you go. My understanding is that once you are a 25E, it will lead all the way up to 25E SGM. But obviously, the higher you get, the less slots there are to fill. 25E is authorized at all tactical levels from BCT up (including Division and Corps) so that will definately include any tactical units in Germany. As far as non-tactical (most of the DC area) jobs, I honestly have no idea.

For your questions about warrant, one thing you should be aware of. In another year or two, 254, 251 and 250 will not exist. 250 will be come 255N (same basic networking job that 250N currently is). 254 and 251 will combine and become 255A (automations warrant). Finally there will be the addition of 255S (IA) which you can transition to as a CW3. At least at the BCT, the 25E will work for the 255S (last time I saw anyway). It doesn't tie directly into either 255A or N. That being said, it is still most definately possible to get picked up for warrant as 25E (I would have to guess that you will have a better chance as a 255N).