Combat Action Badge eligiblity requirements??????

So I need to figure the eligibilty requirements for the CAB. I looked in AR 600-8-22 and it isn't very specific. I was trying to look for something about distances and things of that nature. IE. Mortar attacks and the distance the soldier has to be for qualification of the badge. I would appreciate any input. Is there an extended regulation that goes more in depth or is it just what's in AR 600-8-22?
Original Post
I didn't find anything that specifically listed a distance.

I've seen discussions from other forums about what the regulation specifically meant with regard to "direct engagement" in combat action.

With regard to HQDA Ltr 600-05-1, it expired on 3 June 2007. It was superceded by ALARACT 128/2005, Delegation of CAB Approval Authority.

ALARACT 128/2005 states:
quote:
(C) Soldier must be personally present and actively engaging or being engaged by the enemy, and performing satisfactorily in accordance with the prescribed rules of engagement. (For the purpose of awarding the CAB, attacks by mortars, rockets, rocket-propelled grenades, improvised explosive devices, suicide bombers, or other projectiles qualify for the badge.)


So essentially, no distance is officially listed. It's up to the approval authority (MG or above in your chain of command) to determine if you were close enough to be considered "actively engaging or being engaged by the enemy".

Furthermore,
quote:
MG Commanders and above are responsible for approving all CAB requests for soldiers currently assigned or attached to their command, regardless if the soldier was assigned to their command at the time of the qualifying action.


So it's at the discretion of the first MG in your current chain of command. Hope that helps.
What are the four specific eligibility requirements for the Combat Action Badge (CAB)?

1. May be awarded to any soldier.
2. Soldier must be performing assigned duties in an area where hostile fire pay or imminent danger pay is authorized.
3. Soldier must be personally present and actively engaging or being engaged by the enemy, and performing satisfactorily in accordance with the prescribed rules of engagement.
4. Soldier must not be assigned/attached to a unit that would qualify the soldier for the CIB/CMB.
quote:
Originally posted by mikeb0800:
Can a Soldier get two CABs? For instance, one in Iraq and one in Afghanistan?


Are you going to wear them both? There is no CAB authorized for multiple awards. (I.E. The star in the wreath). Once you get it, you have it. There's no reason to get additional awards of it.
quote:
Originally posted by Pet21:
Are you going to wear them both? There is no CAB authorized for multiple awards. (I.E. The star in the wreath). Once you get it, you have it. There's no reason to get additional awards of it.


Not true. You can be awarded multiple CABs. There is no extra star on the wreath like there is with the CMB and CIB, but you can get multiple CABs.

My current PSG has two CABs. Guess what, that's TWO different awards for TWO different actions. And that's 80 promotion points right there for two CABs.

Just saying.
quote:
Originally posted by sysalis:
quote:
Originally posted by Pet21:
Are you going to wear them both? There is no CAB authorized for multiple awards. (I.E. The star in the wreath). Once you get it, you have it. There's no reason to get additional awards of it.


Not true. You can be awarded multiple CABs. There is no extra star on the wreath like there is with the CMB and CIB, but you can get multiple CABs.

My current PSG has two CABs. Guess what, that's TWO different awards for TWO different actions. And that's 80 promotion points right there for two CABs.

Just saying.


This is not entirely true, you can receive multiple CABs however I believe you can only get one per operation ie 1 Iraq and 1 Afganistan, and there is a CAB with stars for multiple CABs also I thought the CAB was only 10 promotion points don't quote me on that one. If they add a number or whatever to the Operation then you can get mulitples let say in Iraq again example Iraqi Freedom II and Iraqi Freedom III.
quote:
Originally posted by Big Red:
quote:
Originally posted by sysalis:
quote:
Originally posted by Pet21:
Are you going to wear them both? There is no CAB authorized for multiple awards. (I.E. The star in the wreath). Once you get it, you have it. There's no reason to get additional awards of it.


Not true. You can be awarded multiple CABs. There is no extra star on the wreath like there is with the CMB and CIB, but you can get multiple CABs.

My current PSG has two CABs. Guess what, that's TWO different awards for TWO different actions. And that's 80 promotion points right there for two CABs.

Just saying.


This is not entirely true, you can receive multiple CABs however I believe you can only get one per operation ie 1 Iraq and 1 Afganistan, and there is a CAB with stars for multiple CABs also I thought the CAB was only 10 promotion points don't quote me on that one. If they add a number or whatever to the Operation then you can get mulitples let say in Iraq again example Iraqi Freedom II and Iraqi Freedom III.


To receive an additional CAB; you have to meet the requirements under another theater of conflict. I received my CAB in Iraq in 2006 when I was a combat MP. Last year in Afghanistan, during a bombardment of indirect fire; that our infantry Colonel awarded the CAB to all persons who were on the FOB at that time (which I do not agree with because there were many troops playing video games and were nowhere near the impact when it happened). When it was time to get awards; I was not issued the CAB because I have already had it for Iraq. Iraq and Afghanistan both fall under CENTCOM; hence the reason for just one award.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Combat_Action_Badge
This is for everyone in the discussion:

According to AR 600-8022, the Combat Action Badge can be awarded once for each qualifying period (Para 8-8e(1). The qualifying period for the CAB is from 18 September, 2001 to a date to be determined (Para 8-8e).

Therefore, a person, as long as they meet the qualifying criteria, can only be awarded one CAB, regardless of if the person was awarded one for Iraq, they can not get a subsequent award for events in Afghanistan. At no time is anybody authorized to wear the CAB with a star in the oak leaves. The current time frame has not expired.

For further information on this, you can also consult https://www.hrc.army.mil/TAGD/...Action%20Badge%20CAB . It has a Q&A area where the same question is asked:

Q: "4: Can a Soldier be awarded a second CAB for a subsequent deployment to Afghanistan or Iraq?

A: "No. There is only one period/era for award of the CAB and that is the Global War on Terrorism (GWOT). GWOT encompasses Operation Enduring Freedom (OEF), Operation Iraqi Freedom (OIF), and Operation New Dawn (OND)."

I hope this answers your questions.

Add Reply

Likes (0)
×
×
×
×