It depends on when your AIT starts which determines about when your BCT starts. They won't send you to basic and leave you with a month gap between BCT and AIT. So to answer your question, it's highly unlikely.
Usually people need to get things together in their own lives before they can leave anyway (putting stuff in storage, ect).
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .