Skip to main content

I was in Iraq in 2005 when we were attacked by rockets and I was submitted for a CAB, but it never got processed while in theater. Upon returning my command team continued to work on our packets. Fast foward to 2008, I was involved in a complex attack in which I was awarded a Bronze Star(V). I was subsiquently awarded the CAB. Fast Foward to 2009, I was awarded a CAB for my first deployment in 2005. I have two award letters and it shows in my file I have two CAB's. Finally to my question, am I authorized to wear a star on my CAB.
Original Post
Nope. Don't have the Reg in front of me, but it is only one CAB per campaign. And all of this right now counts as GWOT. I have been in combat in both Iraq and Afghanistan, but I can only have one CAB. No one in the Army has a star on their CAB to my knowledge because it was recently created during this campaign, so this is the one and only it could be awarded for.
I have been told that I wasnt able to have to CABS because it was techinically under the same campaign (GWOT), but if you read the reg it says you are only entitled on CAB during a qualifying period (par F pg 103 AR 600-8-22. So I guess I would ask your chain of command to see if its legit to have two. I mean you do have to seperate orders and they are for different time periods, I would be interested in what you are told, since I was told different. I know this isnt much of help, but here is exactly what it says from the regulation AR 600-8-22. I have copy and pasted it here

8–8. Combat Action Badge
a. On 2 May 2005, the Chief of Staff, Army, approved the creation of the Combat Action Badge (CAB) to provide
special recognition to Soldiers who personally engaged, or are engaged by the enemy.
b. The requirements for award of the CAB are Branch and MOS immaterial. Assignment to a Combat Arms unit or
a unit organized to conduct close or offensive combat operations, or performing offensive combat operations is not
required to qualify for the CAB. However, it is not intended to award all Soldiers who serve in a combat zone or
imminent danger area.
c. Specific eligibility requirements.
(1) May be awarded to any Soldier.
(2) Soldier must be performing assigned duties in an area where hostile fire pay or imminent danger pay is
(3) Soldier must be personally present and actively engaging or being engaged by the enemy, and performing
satisfactorily in accordance with the prescribed rules of engagement.
(4) Soldier must be assigned or attached to a unit that would qualify the Soldier for the CIB/CMB. For example, an
11B assigned to Corps staff is eligible for award of the CAB. However, an 11B assigned to an infantry battalion is not
eligible for award of the CAB.
d. In addition to Army Soldiers, the CAB may also be awarded to members of other U.S. Armed Forces and foreign
military personnel assigned to a U.S. Army unit, provided they meet the above criteria (for example, KATUSA’s in the
2d Infantry Division).
e. Award of the CAB is authorized from 18 September 2001 to a date to be determined. Award for qualifying
service in any previous conflict is not authorized.
f. Second and subsequent awards of the CAB are as follows:
(1) Only one CAB may be awarded during a qualifying period.
(2) Second and subsequent award of the CAB will be indicated by superimposing one and two stars respectively,
centered at the top of the badge between the points of the oak wreath.
g. Retroactive awards of the CAB are not authorized prior to 18 September 2001. For service on or after 18
September 2001, applications (with supporting documentation) for retroactive awards of the CAB will be forwarded
through the first 2-star general in the chain of command to the USA HRC, ATTN: AHRC–PDO–PA, Alexandria, VA
AR 600–8–22 • 11 December 2006 103
h. The CAB is categorized as a Group 1 Badge. See AR 670–1 for specific wear instructions.
i. Soldier may be awarded the CIB, CMB and CAB for the same qualifying period, provided the criteria for each
badge are met. However, subsequent awards of the same badge within the same qualifying period are not authorized.
j. The CAB may be awarded by any commander delegated authority by the Secretary of the Army during wartime
or the USA HRC, ATTN: AHRC–PDO–PA. Effective 3 June 2005, Commanders delegated authority to award the
CAB may further delegate award authority to commanders in the grade of major general or above. The CAB will be
announced in permanent orders.
Basically the way I am being told, though your first one was retroactive it technically should have been your only CAB due to it being your first award technically, but either or award can only count for one CAB due to it being under the same campaign which equals from what the reg says is the one qualifying period.
So basically what I am saying just like the person above said 1 CAB equals the GWOT Campaign, so since both of your orders are reading under GWOT only one is technically valid, if you get looked at by the board for SFC they will see this and say what is really goig on someone in your unit didnt have the reg right, so what I would suggest you do is make sure only one order is put in your records, hope this helps.
I'm pretty sure that you are only authorized one regardless of the two award letters. And I say this because of the following statement in AR 600-8-22.

e. Award of the CAB is authorized from 18 September 2001 to a date to be determined. Award for qualifying
service in any previous conflict is not authorized.
f. Second and subsequent awards of the CAB are as follows:
(1) Only one CAB may be awarded during a qualifying period.

So even with the two award letters, one is more or less no good. Just like air assault b4 cav said. I'd go to S1 and have them remove the extra CAB from your ERB so when it does go up in front of a board you don't get gigged for having the wrong info. on it.

Add Reply

Link copied to your clipboard.